04
May
09

Photographer of the Day: 5/4: Alcove

Deviant Art user Alcove has created what Abduzeedo has called Dark Light Photos. Which may or may not be a composite image of multiple images taken at various times of the day, including early morning and late night. My thoughts on this are based on pure speculation, as there is no information as to how Alcove was able to achieve this effect.

like_a_dream____by_alcove1

But what an effect it is! Where light plays a different set of rules, where older buildings take on the sinister apparitions of history, a place where time lingers, hovering between day and night.

9 Responses to “Photographer of the Day: 5/4: Alcove”


  1. 1 hollie cayton
    May 6, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    My favorite photo is the one with the dark trees. I like this one, because it uses the framing, with the trees, and the colors are amazing, mysterious yet exciting at the same time.

  2. 2 tiffany yanoupeth
    May 5, 2009 at 11:33 am

    My favorite picture is the third to last one, I like this one because it reminds me of the saying “the light at the end of the tunnel.” All the photographers pictures are so vivid, but this one just catches my eye. I like the lighting it has and the color balance it all just goes together.

  3. 3 Olga Simakova
    May 5, 2009 at 11:20 am

    My favorite image from Alcove is the very last one because I like how the coloring of the image is dark and there is light shining at the same time. It looks like a place that hasn’t had a shining day for years.

  4. May 5, 2009 at 11:18 am

    AHHHH! How could you possibly make me choose?! I thought you tortured us before by making us choose a favorite image…but this…NO WAY! I love all of them. They’re brilliant and original and ultra unique. In a way, it almost irritates me that he’s so good lol; but I love him at the same time haha. I couldn’t even rate his work on a scale of 1-10. Seriously, his work is way off the charts. Kudos to you Mr.Strong for finding the best photographer of the day [EVER!].

  5. May 5, 2009 at 11:15 am

    I like the picture with the house in the middle of the corn fields. It reminds me of the cartoon “Courage The Cowardly Dog”.

  6. 6 Kristin Guest
    May 4, 2009 at 11:28 am

    Honestly I like almost all of his photos. One of my favorites is the castle by the sea. It almost looks cartoonish in the way the light shines on the castle. In addition it seems odd that the castle is surrounded by a moat of houses instead of water.

  7. May 4, 2009 at 11:22 am

    My favorite image would have to be the blown up one. I like how you can see the moon in the water and I think it’s cool and unique.

  8. 8 Tyler Bradley
    May 4, 2009 at 11:22 am

    I like the 9th picture of the castle looking building standing to the side of the ocean. I like how the light shines on the village and the castle

  9. May 4, 2009 at 11:22 am

    My favorite picture is the first picture. Its my favorite picture because I like the angle that the picture was taken from.


Leave a Reply

Time Machine

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tracks

HHS Photography

09-10 Syllabus

FINAL PORTFOLIO INFO

Archives

RSS Digital Photography School

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Abduzeedo

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

