27
Apr
10

Photographer of the Day: Asia Kepka


Asia’s statement for Bridget and I follows:
6 years ago I found Bridget on Craigslist . I was intrigued and decided to spend $100 not knowing really what will I do with her. One day I took her out of my basement, dressed her up and started to set up a portrait. She looked bit stiff and the photo needed something.. never before I was a fan of doing self portraits but I decided to jump in. Suddenly I found myself in the midst of my most exciting project-don’t get me wrong- taking photos always brought me incredible rush and joy.

Working as a photographer I feel like a dog with it’s head out of the window of a car on the way to the park. This project became my visual diary- place where I record my dreams, my past, my everyday life. My hope was to create a fairy tale that is timeless, independent of place, hermetically sealed from the outside world. This cathartic process has allowed me to explore issues of my identity as a woman and as an immigrant. Quite often images of me are reflection of my Mother and Grandmother back in Poland. All images are self portraits taken with 4×5 camera. The only exception are water shots.

This adventure has been physically challenging (Bridget is quite heavy and rigid) but incredibly rewarding personally.

Many, many thanks to Lenscratch for introducing me to this fine fine photographer.

18 Responses to “Photographer of the Day: Asia Kepka”


  1. 1 christian brett
    April 28, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    the picture with them at the fence is my favorite. the person acutally looks real.

  2. 2 Zhanna Vuziy
    April 28, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    These photo’s have such a unique subject in them—a manikin. I like that in some photos, the very pretty, made up with makeup manikin is made less emphasized compared to the ordinary real person who does not have as much outer beauty. It makes me think that the photographer was trying to express the idea that outer beauty is fake like the manikin in some of the photos.

  3. 3 Makayla Smith
    April 27, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    I like all these photos. They are very interesting and seem like they have a story behind each one.

  4. 4 Tyler Smith
    April 27, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    I like the main photo the most because the “thing” actually looks like a real person and at first glance you really can’t tell. I think the photographer accomplished what she was going for.

  5. 5 Cusanelli
    April 27, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    I like the picture with the tree because it is pretty with the sun and the fence and everything. And you can’t really tell it’s not a real person.

  6. 6 Haylee Shepperd
    April 27, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    I like how they all look unrealistic, but are real.

  7. 7 Hayley Nowland
    April 27, 2010 at 10:56 am

    They’re all interesting, no favorite.

  8. 8 Brittany Koontz
    April 27, 2010 at 10:55 am

    My favorite photo was the one with the two people on the pathway with all of the fall trees and the gate. I like this photo because the trees are all colorful and nice


Leave a Reply

Time Machine

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Tracks

HHS Photography

09-10 Syllabus

FINAL PORTFOLIO INFO

Archives

RSS Digital Photography School

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Photo Jojo

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Abduzeedo

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

